4 comments on “Assisted Suicide

  1. I am beginning to understand a little how one can suffer pain, but compared to a good many my pain is nothing, I am not at death’s door, but even if I was was, there is no way I would want to end it all. There is no way the good Lord would agree to such a callous act, and perhaps the person suffering cannot see beyond the nose on their face how they in turn would cause further pain to the loved ones left behind. And more to the point, the devastation, and the sacrilige in the sight of God. Life is too precious to throw it all away.

  2. Whilst I agree with you that God is the source of life, I greatly differ from your opinion in that I would support the legalisation of assisted suicide, for a number of reasons. Perhaps that’s just because I’m very liberal in my politics though.

  3. James thanks for the comment and whilst I would acknowledge that this is a difficult issue and of course respect your own right to hold a different opinion, perhaps you would permit me to flesh out my own view.
    To clarify, I believe the right thing to do in some circumstances is to withhold treatment. Just because a procedure is possible does not mean it is the right course of action. These decisions have to be taken in the patient’s best interest.
    On assisted suicide, I disagree because:
    • Any system run by sinful human beings will be full of mistakes. It sounds very plausible and compassionate but I’m sure the truth will be far different. If you take the example of the Criminal Justice System and Capital Punishment, there are cases where the person certainly deserves the death penalty. Cases like Robert Black http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-16089785 . There have been other cases where terrible miscarriages of justice have occurred such as the murder Lynette White http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-south-east-wales-15981541. The NHS employs well over a million people, it is one of the biggest employers in the world, and the huge scale would mean mistakes would inevitably be made.
    • No Doctor can accurately estimate the length of time that someone will live. My own father was given 12-18 months to live in 2004 and when I saw him yesterday he was very much alive! These things are at best a guess, even right at the end of life, medical staff cannot say how long with any degree of accuracy. All of this means that people will be ending their lives whilst they are still well enough when in fact they may have years of life left.
    • It buys in to the whole ‘life has to be perfect or it’s worthless’ idea.
    • It will undoubtedly be the thin end of the wedge. Those who gave evidence at the ‘independent’ inquiry have said as much. When people started going to Switzerland, it was just the terminally sick, now it includes people who are paralysed but whose condition would be stable for many years.
    • The sick and elderly will feel pressurised. They already do, even when they are supported by a loving family. The thought of an elderly sick person being pressurised by an unscrupulous family is a terrible prospect.
    • I would say the bible teaches against it. The phrase; ‘You are not your own; you were bought at a price’ applies to the body. God’s plan of salvation includes both body and soul therefore I do not think we have the right to destroy our own bodies.
    “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honour God with your body.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)
    “Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple.” (1 Corinthians 3:16-17)

  4. Having read both comments from a young person and someone a little older, I think it fair to say we all agree that it is a difficult situation (and please I hasten to add I am not patronizing anyone) but I would like to add a further comment from a personal point of view by saying that I have an elderly Mum who is 92 this year and quite frankly her quality of life at the present time is not very good. For those who know me you wll also know that my Mum is a sufferer of Alzheimer’s Desease, and in her words not mine, and I quote “I wish I was dead.” unquote, I really do fully understand what she means and believe me I feel so helpless and sad that I can do nothing for her myself and I also appreciate that there can be no ease or comfort from the medical staff. If I was given the opportunity to press a button and stop her suffering, I would 101% say “NO” because I love her so much and in my heart and in the sight of God I would be committing a murder.

    I hope and pray that my comments will be a help to anyone in a similar situation, Amen

Leave a Reply

